Winterus - In Carbon Mysticism

Winterus - In Carbon Mysticism
In Carbon Mysticism
Lifeforce Records

American – based black metal has always been controversial. Their freshness is often summoned to make up for the lack of a European – standards atmosphere, and the collision through this less productive black metal era we are part of, is meeting no end. Michigan – based Winterus is an outfit caught somewhere in the middle: most expectations do collapse.

The intro actually emits a welcomed, quite welcomed ambience. The breed that follows is an indeed intriguing mixture (yet a non – innovative one): this is black metal, a melodic one, a more conventional one, with somewhat death metal breaks, and also an organized struggling to deviate from the over-crowded musical path they’ve chosen to walk. It sounds as if the band has an inner need (or an over-though choice) to cover as many sub-genres as possible. Problem is, Winterus cannot, for their musical stature is...weak. Specifically, the riffage is neat, and all in all, this is the band’s strongest hold: it seems as all inspiration was consumed when conceiving much of the riffing. However, while there seems to be an effort to achieve a sort of elite, Wolves In the Throne Room - esque sound, the arrangements are poor. The relatively good riffs are the alpha and omega of In Carbon Mysticism.

There is though an even deeper, less comprehensive and quite harsh to psychologically evaluate problem. First things first: In Carbon Mysticism is a non – uniform product. The thick blackened-death riffing is inconsistent when interrupted by a kind of Swedish death metal nips (Moonlust), or an even more ethereal, French influenced post sounding (Harmonious’ intro). The inconsistency shares its luminous grandeur with the listener each time there’s a track change. Illustratively, No Rest & Harmonious could be different bands performing. Of course this would not be that of a big deal if the production was the…same throughout the album in whole! Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the sound is different between more compositions (the difference in drumming production is the most easily spottable). In other words, it sounds as if the songs come from different recording sessions. As if this weren’t shocking enough, three songs have been “recorded live”. Beware, it is not a live performance, they’ve been merely recorded live. Quite an outdated decision may I say, as the wanted sound was obviously not captivated, amplifying the release’s inconsistency.

The debut album definitely bears promising mixtures. Also, the tactically delivered instrumentals meet my liking. However, the drawbacks overflow In Carbon Mysticism, stigmatizing Winterus’ first step in the extreme metal map. I guess there is some thinking the band should be driven into.

Grade: 5.5


1.     Lone Wolves

2.     Reborn

3.     No Rest

4.     Harmonious

5.     Moonlust

6.     Eternal Ghost

7.     Christ Reign*

8.     Dusk Unveils*

9.     Through the Mist*

*(recorded live)



Your rating: None Average: 5 (1 vote)